Connect with us

Other News

“One Borough, One City, One Dream” The NAACP-Brooklyn Branch Annual Freedom Fund Reception & Awards Ceremony



“ONE BOROUGH, ONE CITY, ONE DREAM”  was the theme for The  National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) Brooklyn  Branch, Fifth Annual Freedom Fund Reception Awards Ceremony on Wednesday, May  11 at the Brooklyn Public Library in the Dr.  S. Stevan Dweck Center for Contemporary Culture, 10 Grand Army Plaza, Brooklyn.

NAACP members and friends attend the reception and awards ceremony.

“The NAACP was  founded by brave American citizens from many cultures, colors and creeds,  nearly 100 years ago to bring freedom and equal rights and civil rights to  Black Americans.  The Brooklyn  Branch continues to be blessed by the work of diverse members and  supporters who share the vision of justice, compassion and economic  opportunity,” said Karen Boykin-Towns, Brooklyn Branch President since 2005.

“Our founders  courageously proved to us that they were powerful beyond  measure. We must  convey that courage to the next generation and beyond so that someday the  vision will be achieved,” stated Boykin-Towns.

Freedom Fund Reception and Awards are being sponsored by: AARP,  Citigroup,  Con Edison, Council of School Administrators and Supervisors, Delta Airlines,  Greater New York Hospital Association, Health First, International Brotherhood  of Teamsters Local 237, Muss Development, New York State United Teachers, The  Related Companies, LP, Rent-A-Center, SUNY Downstate Medical Center, Tioga  Downs Racetrack LLC, V3 Hotels and OraSure Technologies,  Inc. For further  information please visit or call  718-243-2040.

NAACP President Karen Boykin-Towns with Roland Brammer, Owner, Subway Franchise; and recipient of the Entrepreneurship Award.


Jacqueline  A. Berrien, Chair, US Equal Employment Opportunity Commission;

Dr. Marcella  Maxwell, Community Activist; LUCILLE ROSE LIVING LEGEND AWARD, Jacqui  Williams-Fields, Principal, 99 Solutions; VALIANT SERVICE AWARD, Roland Brammer,  Owner, Subway Franchise; ENTREPRENEURSHIP AWARD, Jailia McLean, Catherine McCauley High School, YOUNG LEADER AWARD; Lillian Rodriguez-Lopez ,  President, Hispanic Federation, FREEDOM STAR AWARD; LEGAL LEADERSHIP  AWARD. Verizon LEADERSHIP IN COMMERCE & INDUSTRY AWARD; Jorel Moore,  Franklin K. Lane High School YOUNG LEADER AWARD.